Many businesses assume that a users home drive is a necessity and gets added to their server like mashed potatoes on Thanksgiving. And like mashed potatoes, we just can't help ourselves, so employees begin adding a majority of their files to their H: or U: drive. So what happens? The employee leaves and it gets passed to the next person to sort or is archived elsewhere and the biohazard mess continues to flow until someone is ready to clean it up.

So what's the better option. Create a folder structure that everyone can use, but is locked down appropriately so that only the users that need access can view or edit as required.

Comment